About CCSO Clay County Services and Programs Sector Map Wall of Honor
Speak Up
Do Business
Learn more
Contact Us

Citizens Academy Learn Join


Retirements Prompt Agency Promotions
Monday, October 4, 2010

Clay County Sheriff’s Office
For Immediate Release
October 4, 2010

Retirements Prompt Sheriff Beseler to Make High Level Changes at CCSO

Clay County Sheriff Rick Beseler announces plans for high level changes in the management structure of the Clay County Sheriff’s Office, prompted by the pending retirements of two veteran members. Current Undersheriff Terry LaCasse (40 year law enforcement veteran) and Operations Bureau Major Jimmy Wilson (31 year law enforcement veteran) will leave the agency this month. These long-serving members of the Sheriff’s Command Staff will be missed greatly. Special meetings were held in September to plan for their departures and what their retirement will mean to the agency.

Sheriff Beseler considers this a bitter-sweet time for the CCSO. “We applaud these two outstanding individuals for their combined seventy-plus years of service to our citizens and will miss their breadth of knowledge,” Beseler said. “Their retirements do, however, open the door for other deserving agency members to be promoted and make their mark on our organization.”

The following personnel changes will be effective October 29, 2010:

 Major Craig Aldrich promoted to Colonel as Chief of Staff (the position formerly called Undersheriff); Aldrich is currently the Detention Bureau Commander (jail).
 Capt. Johnny Mack Smith promoted to Major as Detention Bureau Commander
 Capt. Mike Hardee promoted to Major as Administration Bureau Commander; Hardee is currently the Chief over the Patrol Division.
 Lt. Carl Harter promoted to Administration Captain (Detention Bureau)
 Lt. Tom Waugh promoted to Security Captain (Detention Bureau)
 Lt. Joe Bucci promoted to Captain as Chief of Detectives; Bucci is currently the supervisor over the Robbery-Homicide Section.

 Major Carl Crossley transferred to Operations Bureau Commander
 Captain David Senters transferred to Chief of Patrol
 Lt. Donnie Deas transferred to Special Operations Section
 Lt. Jim Morgan transferred to Robbery Homicide Section
 Lt. Kenny Wagner transferred to Juvenile Crime Section
* Lt. Mel Gaden transfered to Patrol (Watch Commander)
* Sgt. Mark Tate transfered to Special Operations over Community Relations, Reserve Unit, and Marine Unit under Lt. Cowan

In addition, the Public Service Aids (PSA) will now be assigned to Traffic Unit Lt. John Angus.

Sheriff Beseler is available to field questions about these retirements/promotions/transfers and how they will impact our agency and its ability to provide continued and improved law enforcement services, etc. Agency photos of both Col. Terry LaCasse and Major Jimmy Wilson are attached for your use. At the end of this month a formal promotional ceremony will be held for the individuals mentioned in this release. Media will be notified once that has been scheduled and additional biographical information will be provided.




Home About Clay Services & Programs Sector Map Speak News Careers Business Learn Contact
  Copyright 2004. All rights reserved. Clay County Sheriff's Office. Website by Seventhman Web Design Firm.